Here are three cave rules that, if you play them right, will get you 80% of the way to playing a perfect
cave game. The first rule is a very easy one to miss about setup. The second rule is about cave
concealment loss. The third concerns LOS from a Cave to a lower level. I don't cover the cave rules
here thoroughly. This article only draws attention to several rules I think need more careful attention.
Read through the rules first, then read this.

Setting up caves in Depressions

Caves can set up on “hillsides” (Crest Lines, Cliffs, elevated roads) or IN Depressions (gully, sunken
roads). The rules for “hillside” caves have a few conditions, but they are simple and because they don't
come up that often, they are hard to get wrong. The conditions for Depression caves are easier to miss
and are common in every map.

To make it easier to refer to parts of the rule, I've added some numbering:

G11.1 “Each Cave counter set up IN a Depression must have its arrow
1. pointing directly away from a non-Depression hexside (of its hex)
2. whose other common hex has a Base Level (or Crest Level—whichever is higher) > that cave's
level,
3. and that arrow must also point across a Depression (including a Crest-Line-Depression; B19.5)
hexside
4. to an adjacent Depression hex.”

Here are ways to violate G11.1:

Illustration 2: 25G7, common hex behind base/crest level
not higher than cave's level

Hlustration 1: 25DD2, not pointing away from non-
Depression hexside
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Hlustration 3: 2577 not pointing at Depression Hlustration 4: 25M7 not pointing at adjacent
hexside Depression hex

Parts one and three are the ones I see most often missed. All Depression caves must be “at a bend or at
an end,” facing away from a non-Depression and towards a Depression.

Also note in G11.1 that if a cave sets up in a Depression hex that is also a “hillside”, it must set up as a
Depression cave. The cave in 25DD2 above can't claim to be a “hillside” cave, nor can a cave in 2508
set up facing 25P8 across the cliff, even though the gully is a level above the cave's level.

Hlustration 5: 2508 illega?ly set
up as a “hillside” cave

Cave Concealment Loss

G11.3 “HIP: Cave counters, as well as their contents, are always considered to be in Concealment
Terrain regardless of the other terrain in their hex and always set up hidden.”

Caves are Fortifications [G11.1]. Fortifications lose Concealment in Concealment Terrain if a Good
Order unit has LOS within 16 hexes. For some reason, it's easy to read G11.3 as saying caves lose
Concealment as per G.2. But G.2 only applies to Fortifications (including caves) set up jungle, kunai or
bamboo. Caves will generally lose concealment as soon as an enemy unit has LOS (because most
ranges are <= 16 hexes), just like Foxholes or Pillboxes. The only real difference is that LOS to the
cave has to be through the Covered Arc.
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Hllustration 6: Assuming PTO is in effect, a unit
in 25T2 immediately reveals the cave in 2554,
but not the one in 25T4 because the unit is not in
the cave's Covered Arc, nor the cave in 25U5
because G.2 applies due to bamboo.

LOS from a cave to a lower level

A unit in a “hillside” cave is at the lower level of the “hillside” [G11.112] (ignoring upper level cliff
caves [G11.113]). On most hills the Entrance hex would “plateau” the LOS to lower levels if not for
this rule:

G11.5 “Barring other LOS obstructions, LOS may be traced within the CA of a cave in a non-
Depression hex to/from an elevation lower than the cave's if its Entrance Hex contains no terrain
(including a Crest Line) whose obstacle height along that LOS is > that cave's level.”
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[llustration 7: Cave set up in 25BB5 facing
25CCs5

A cave set up in 25BB5 facing 25CCS has LOS to 25CC4, 25DD4, and 25DDS even though it's at level



three, and 25CC5 would ordinarily “plateau” the LOS. This cave does not have a LOS to 25EE4,
because 25DD4 would be a “LOS obstruction” other than the Entrance Hex, and it would create a blind
hex in 25EE4 (and 25FF3 too because the cliff obstruction is at level two).

Similarly, a cave set up in 25Q7 facing 25Q6 would have LOS to the Crest Level of 25Q2, but not
INTO the gully because at a range of five hexes it would have to have a five level elevation advantage
over the Location IN the gully at level -1, that is it would have to be at level four [A6.3]. This cave also
does not have LOS to 25R4 or 25P4 because while the Entrance Hex allows for the LOS, 25R5 and
25P5 are “other LOS obstructions” that “plateau” the LOS and so deny it.

There are lots more cave rules, but most don't cause quite as much confusion as these three. If you can
play these three right, you're on way to playing a perfect cave game.
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